Keystone Stars

  COMMUNITY OUTREACH

Local Education and Resource Network (LEARN)

Each Regional Key provides assistance to local communities to get the word out about quality early learning and the benefits of Keystone STARS. Several county-based groups work to inform, educate and motivate around quality early learning.  Some of the goals of these groups are:

1. Effectively communicate with and engage families:

a. Assist families to act as their child’s first educator, with information about child development and appropriate early learning activities, aligned with the early learning standards.

b. Help families make good early learning choices for their children while building family demand for quality early education; and

c. Support families to take action on behalf of their children.

2. Provide support to families with a child transitioning into an early learning setting or those with children entering kindergarten.

3. Act as a resource for early childhood education to promote OCDEL programs, such as Keystone STARS, through activities such as early learning events, early learning activities and/or other programs within a community which focus on quality early education programs and access to early learning opportunities.

In the South Central Region there are 17 counties who may provide information and activities to families and community members.  To find out more about outreach in your area or to find out how you can participate, please contact Stephanie Spitz, Community Partners Specialist, at 717-771-8584, or 800-864-4925, x584.

County

Address

Contact name and e-mail/phone

Adams (LEARN)

123 Buford Ave.

Gettysburg, PA  17325

Diana Fasnacht dianauwac@centurylink.net
717-334-5809 x 26

Adams/Franklin/ Fulton CCIS
153 N. Stratton St.
Gettysburg, PA  17325
Marci Place  mplace@SCCAP.org

Cumberland (LEARN)

145 S. Hanover St.

Carlisle, PA  17013

Lynn Everhart  lynn@carlisleunitedway.org
717-243-4805

Cumberland and Dauphin CCIS

230 S. Spring Garden St.

Carlisle, PA  17013

Judy Maietta  c-jmaietta@ccni-pa.com

Wendy Snyder  c-wsnyder@ccni-pa.com

Wendy Murphy  c-wemurphy@ccni-pa.com

Juniata and Mifflin (LEARN)

13 E. Third St.

Lewistown, PA  17044

Cristy Yoders  cyoders@mjunitedway.org

717-436-0212

Juniata/Mifflin/Union/Snyder CCIS

10 Bollinger Rd.

Lewistown, PA  17044

Mary Wilson  mwilson@sumcd.org

Lancaster (LEARN)

630 Janet Ave.

Lancaster, PA  17601

Andrea Heberlein  heberlein@uwlanc.org

Lancaster CCIS

601 S. Queen St.

Lancaster, PA  17602

Ann Louise Brown  c-annbrown@pa.gov

Lebanon CCIS

730 Locust St.

Lebanon, PA  17042-5479

Lorita Valente  lvalente@luthercare.org

717-274-6552

Ann Gunshenan  agunshenan@luthercare.org

Montour/Northumberland CCIS

398 Wall St.

Danville, PA  17821

Joanne Blass  jblass@ccismn.org

570-275-3996

Northumberland/Union/Snyder

335 Market St., Ste 2A

Sunbury, PA  17801

Karen Ulp  ececoord@gsvuw.org
570-988-0993
Perry CCIS

133 South 5th St.

Newport, PA  17074

Kathleen Bentley  kbentley@pa.net

717-567-7323

York (LEARN)

800 E. King St.

York, PA  17403

Sara Bradley bradleys@unitedway-york.org

717-771-3808

York CCIS

29 N. Duke St.

York, PA  17401

Pat Torbert  ptorbert@childcareconsultants.org



COPYRIGHT® 2011 CHILD CARE CONSULTANTS, INC.      DISCLAIMER